7 Keys for Eternal Happiness

By Dr. Vivek Mohindra

This e-mail address is being protected from spam bots, you need JavaScript enabled to view it

Happiness is a buzz word worldwide these days. Happiness indices are being drawn up, people specializing in happiness are sought after and happiness conferences are organized at large scales.


People are looking for it in materialistic things and ways. According to Geeta it is of three types. Satvika, Rajsika & Tamsika, Tamsika happiness is what we call “ignorance is bliss” and indulgence in drinking, smoking or gambling etc. Rajsika happiness is which arises out of contact between sense organs and sense objects. But in these things law of diminishing returns comes to play. Hence even if there may be initial joy, Rajsika happiness is momentary enslaving & problematic. Satvika happiness is real bliss it comes from inside, out of grace, blessings and self knowledge. It is long lasting & real happiness.

This happiness should be our primary goal. If we make happiness our primary goal, then everything else we desire will follow. Spiritual traditions have told us that if you seek the highest first, everything else comes to us. Materialism cannot give real happiness. Happiness is an internal state of real consciousness that decides how we perceive about the world and interact with it. Vedanta tells us that happiness for a reason is just another form of misery because reason can be taken away any time. To be happy for no reason is the real happiness for which we should look for. Happiness is a state of consciousness that already exists within us; we have to activate it with following keys.

1. Simplify: We are generally too busy, trying to squeeze in more and more activities in short time. To remain relaxed and happy we should schedule our priorities. But usually we prioritise our schedule and keep on doing so many useless things which are never our true priorities of life. Happiness depends upon our state of mind not on our status or bank account. Quality of our life is quality of our consistent emotions. When we accept emotions as naturals, we are more likely to have a balance between head and heart. The goal should be to engage ourselves in activities which are personally significant and enjoyable.

2. Be in the being domain: To be happy, be in present. Most of time we are in Trans or in becoming domain, in simple words either we are thinking of something else, instead of where we are or thinking about future rather than to be in present. When you are taking bath, you are thinking of breakfast. At breakfast table, thinking about office and boss, when in office with boss you are thinking about wife and at home with wife you are thinking about girlfriend. The tragedy of modern man is that he cannot even concentrate during Sex. Even then he starts thinking about other things of life. Ask yourself, how you can remain happy, to be happy, always be in present. If you are looking at a flower look as if you are looking at flower first time. No context & nomenclature is required. A flower is a flower and only a flower. So be in the being domain not in the becoming domain. In simple words live in present and be available for your feelings.

3. Decrease the denominator: Happiness is number desires fulfilled, divided by the number of desires harboured. Most of time we work towards increasing the numerator that is to have more and more materialistic desires fulfilled, In reality what we need is to decrease the denominator that is to reduce the number of desires harboured.

No. of desires fulfilled / No. of desires harboured = happiness.

A simple method to do this is to upgrade our desires and same we will learn in seventh key of happiness.



Home arrow Articles arrow 7 Keys for Eternal Happiness

Buy ebook on
Pulse Diagnosis

Nadi Pariksha

9.90 Euro Only

Show Cart
Your Cart is currently empty.
Top Ten
Ashok (Saraca asoca)
Ashok (Saraca asoca)
Add to Cart

Ayurveda Yoga Vedic Astrology


   Design by Reflex Infosystems